For more Information call Follow us on: Twitter Facebook Google Plus Youtube Linkedin

HOME  /  News  /  Blog  /  Upcoming Webinar on Trauma-Informed Mindfulness

Upcoming Webinar on Trauma-Informed Mindfulness

This month, Yorkville University will host an informative webinar lead by Sarah Schlote titled Trauma-Informed Mindfulness: Somatic Skills for Present Moment Body Awareness

As seen on a Sussex Directories Inc site

Sarah Schlote, as seen on a Sussex Directories Inc site.

Date & Time: Wednesday, August 31, 2016 at 3pm, Atlantic Daylight Time (which is 2pm, EDT; 1pm, CST; 12noon, MST; & 11am, PST)

The webinar is open to Master of Arts in Counselling Psychology faculty, students and alumni. To register, please email bdasgupta@yorkvilleu.ca . All interested students and alumni should write to express their interest and please include your full name (no nicknames) and e-mail address.

Summary: Building on the material covered from the previous installation in this series, this webinar will focus on practical strategies and experiential exercises to implement mindfulness with a trauma lens.  Inspired by Somatic Experiencing, participants will further develop their understanding of the principle of titration to prevent overwhelm and flooding, restore a sense of choice, voice and empowerment, and build capacity for being present in one’s body in a different way.  Participants will learn different ways to mindfully track sensations with an understanding of nervous system activation and deactivation, to help clients shift from fear and anxiety to gentle curiosity about their internal experience.

Presenter: Sarah Schlote, MA, RP, CCC, SEP Registered Psychotherapist and Somatic Experiencing Practitioner

Sarah is the founder and director of The Refuge: Centre for Healing and Recovery in Guelph, ON and the lead trainer for Trauma Trainings from The Refuge.  Her 15 years of experience are enhanced by a trauma-focused MA in Counselling Psychology from the University of Victoria, the 3-year Somatic Experiencing trauma resolution training, and multiple post-advanced training and master classes in neurophysiology, body reading, attachment, body memory, early developmental trauma, equine-facilitated therapy and touch work.  She has practised mindfulness since 2003 and often teaches about the intersections of trauma and contemplative practices.

For more information, please visit www.healingrefuge.com,  www.equuspirit.com,  www.traumatrainings.com  and www.traumainformedyoga.ca



No Comments

Blog post currently doesn't have any comments.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.