Yorkville Launches 3-Week Peer Support Group for Students Battling Depression

Events

February 24, 2021

“From the outside looking in, it’s hard to understand. From the inside looking out, it’s hard to explain.” 

Yorkville University is set to launch a three-week peer support group to allow students battling depression to come together to share their experiences, to learn from each other, and to collaborate on new strategies that will support them in better managing their depressive symptoms. 

These weekly support sessions, which will take place every Wednesday from March 10 until March 24, will consist of an open-group format with a maximum of 20 students. Each hourlong session will take place from 10 to 11 a.m. (PST) / 1 to 2 p.m. (EST) / 2 to 3 p.m. (AST). 

Students can sign-up on a first-come, first-serve basis for any of the following sessions, each of which will cover a different topic: 

  • Week 1 (March 10): Psychoeducation
  • Week 2 (March 17): Reviewing Triggers, Symptoms, and Identifying Obstacles
  • Week 3 (March 24): Strategies

Students interested in signing up for these support groups will be asked to sign up through Sign Up Genius here.

For more information, contact Yorkville University’s Mental Health and Wellness Department at [email protected]